Check Out This Artist: Imilia

I got pretty tired of my blog as a more vacuous space than normal so I sent out a tweet asking for bands to plug. While I didn’t expect to get any response I got one and fast.

Imilia answered my cry for bands to plug.  Based in Miami this trio blends rock, electronic, and rockstep.  I’m not really sure what all rockstep entails, but the name alone gives me some clues.  Other than a blend of unlikely genres these guys have some goodies to offer a listener.

Overall, there’s a bit going on.  There’s the use of chord dissonance  which enhances the dark tones of the pieces.  While the lyrics are a bit angsty for my tastes the way they use it to set the tone and compliment chord progressions is interesting.  This is usually where I noticed the elements of dubstep the most.

They have an official website, in addition to a facebook and soundcloud account where you can check them out.  Their latest single “Mendacity” can be found on their soundcloud page.

Leave a Reply

